Clear all

Fingers

19 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@peejay)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I just found Vic Lewis's hand size thread and I thought it was really unfair that I could only just touch the 6th fret on my guitar. :wink:

Anyways, I'm new to the bass since about 3 or 4 weeks ago...my only other guitar experience before that was more or less some open chords on a regular (non-bass) acoustic guitar. I got my first amp 2 days ago (Peavey Minx 110, I just had the bass hooked up through my soundcard until then) and my eyes (ears) were finally opened to the amazing amount of sounds that I was making unintentionally: ringing strings, bumping strings, notes sounding when I fret them before I pluck them or when I lift my finger off the string...I assume some of this will quiet down as I learn better technique, right?

Back to my original question. I have long, spindly "piano" fingers (good for stretching, bad for muting, it seems). I can do a 4-fret stretch okay (not great yet, of course :lol: ) on the first 4 frets of the G string, but as I move up to the E string, my hand/wrist starts to rotate counterclockwise so I end up touching the strings with the sides of my fingers instead. I can improve the situation by putting the neck in a (much) more vertical position, but can't really do that sitting down.

So, any beginner tips for hand/thumb/elbow placement would be appreciated, as well as tips from the long-fingered on what to do with the nice extra length when it's just getting in the way bumping other strings and needing to bend them more (maybe?) just to get down to the strings and such. :P

Thanks!

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

First, welcome to GN! And especially to the "bottom end" of bass land.

I've only been playing a year and I've got somewhat small hands so I can't help you much, but:
I can improve the situation by putting the neck in a (much) more vertical position, but can't really do that sitting down.