Notifications
Clear all

How to balance a (bass) guitar?

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@johnyu)
Topic starter  

I'm an absolute beginner who has just bought an entry-level bass guitar. When I put the bass on with a strap, the guitar immediately rotates and the neck drops down if I leave both hands off. But I saw on TV guitarists don't have to always keep a hand on the guitar.

Is there any trick to keep the guitar in balance on a strap?
--
John

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the asylum for the musically insane. I've moved you down to the bass forum. I think you'll get a quicker response there.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@davem)
Estimable Member

Sounds like it's a matter of positioning the strap appropriately around your body. If you keep the strap over your left shoulder short then it should tend to balance properly. (that's assuming your righty).

Dave

Sometimes in life you get shown the light,
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

It's a real common problem John, even in some hi-end basses. Some guys will say to get a little bag and fill it with pennies (or something else relatively heavy) and attach it to the strap where it connects to the bottom strap button, some will say to try to move the strap button lower (or higher) so get the balance right. I've even heard someone say that when you get into shielding the controls (from outside hum and noise) to use lead (which other guys will say is not recommended because of the toxicity of lead), but sometimes there's nothing you can do about it.

The reason is most necks, even on the less expensive basses, still have to be made of some sort of maple, and maple's heavy no matter what you do. Then the manufacturer tries to make the overall weight of the bass manageable by using a light wood for the body, and there's the problem.