Clear all

Regular bass gig with the worship team at church

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@tjk0225)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Picked the guitar up about a year ago and decided to give bass a try earlier this year. I mentioned to the worship team leader I was teaching myself bass and now I think I have a weekly gig. I had been playing sax, but he would rather me on bass. With me on bass, it frees up the keyboard player who was covering the bass lines to play viola. Today was the second week that I have played bass and my sax is gathering dust.

I've only been playing bass since about February. The first piece we worked on all I had was a lead sheet to play from :shock: After playing sax (and reading treble clef) for over 25 years, reading bass clef and playing from a lead sheet has been challenging . . . and a lot of fun.

Nothing like a regular gig to improve your chops. :wink:

Tom

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Congrats on the regular gig! ;)

I started playing bass in the praise band last summer, though I didn't have nearly as much musical background as you do.

Have fun!

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

8)

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@tjk0225)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Congrats on the regular gig! ;)

I started playing bass in the praise band last summer, though I didn't have nearly as much musical background as you do.

Have fun!

Cool. How big is your church? What kind of music do you play? traditional/contemporary? We play a bit of a mix. I think the leader would like to go a little more contemporary over time. Our youth group planned and lead the entire service a couple of weeks ago (one of the high schools seniors even preached a good sermon!). Everyone seemed to like that, so we'll see. I just enjoy playing, so it doesn't matter much to me.