Notifications
Clear all

stupid bass questions

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@chefinbldr)
Topic starter  

I have been playing bass off and on for almost 15 years, most of that time was playing upright bass in orchestras and such. Recently I started playing electric with the worship team at my church and am having a great time with it. I recently purchased a new bass to use (a Brice 5 string fretless with active pickups - HXB-405 that can be seen here http://www.rondomusic.bigstep.com/item.jhtml;$sessionid$WIU3UPAAAAVYNTZENUGZPQWPERWRJPX0?UCIDs=850849%7C1145365&PRID=812851

Now that you have a little background, my questions are thus:

1. This new bass has four control knobs on it. It didn't come with any documentation and I'm wondering exactly which knob does what? Are most basses standard with their controls?

2. The knob I do know is the push/pull for the active circuitry. But, what happens when I turn the knob? Also, with the actives turned on, the lowest right knob (if you were playing the bass) generates a lot of buzz through the amp. Could it be I need a new pot there?

Thanks for your help!

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Hey congrats - nice bass man!

Anyhow, from the Rondo description page "active pickups (with active/passive pull tap) and bass, treble, balance and volume controls." Let's go with that.

I have an Essex 5-string with passives in it, but just as a guess, using this picture:

I would think the upper left knob was the main volume. That's probably also the push/pull, no?

The lower left might be the balance control which just basically fades from one pickup to the other. Some instruments have this if they don't have a toggle switch for pickup selection.

The upper and lower right are most likely tone controls -- the upper right for the neck pup and the lower right for the bridge pup.