a method to decide which pattern to apply pop/rock songs

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@matteo)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hello beginners

I'm one of you! As most of you know, many have some troubles to choose the proper rhytmhic pattern to apply to a song. I've also had a lot of troubles too until I bought an excellent book from a French guitarist, Walter Laurent Boy. Unfortunately I suppose it is available only in French and in Italian but you could also check his site http://www.mega-muse.com . Anyway ‘til now I studied and made the excercises just for the first 30 pages or so but the most important thing is that he expose in his book a method to understand how to play a number, a method which really works so I think it should be interesting to give everyone some hints. First of all a premise: the book is just the first one in a series of three which will be printed in the next months so it is adressed to beginners. You would not find any arpeggios or embelisshments but just some basic patterns and in the second part of the book some basic scales to start improvising.

Anyway Laurent Boy's main point is that there are three basic patterns which could be used (of course with some variations) to play the biggest part of pop/country/rock/blues numbers (also some hard rock slow numbers etc.). The only thing you have to do to play a number is to decide which is the beat resolution and then you could find a pattern which apply the song. Here it is:

a) if the song is based on octave note resolution (which means no more than two notes per beat) you could play it with a folk pattern like the classic D/du/u/du or variation like D/du/u/d or du/du/u/du or whatever pattern you like (also all down up strums);