Clear all

Are my fingers too fat?

14 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@stevie-long)
Topic starter  

Hi

I'm new at this. I have only been playing for two weeks. I have noticed that I have to press down so hard on the strings that my fingers end up touching the strings next to them. The chords sound dead. Is it that my fingers need to build up chaluses? Will that resolve my problem? Also, my fingers are really sore. How long does it take for that to go away?

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Correct, you are pressing too hard mostly because you don't have calluses yet and the strings are sinking into your finger tips. Even without calluses try to press lighter and closer to the fret wire and that will help.

It usually takes a couple of weeks for them to start to build with an hour or two practice each day but does depend on the individual. If it hurts too much stop for a bit so you don't end up with blisters. And whatever you do don't pick at the fingers.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

P.S. Welcome to the wonderful world of guitars and guitarnoise.

Stick with it and before long your fingers will stop hurting and you may not even notice when that happens.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

Happened to me too. When my calouses built up it wasn't so bad, and I've noticed that overall my fingers are getting skinnier because they're getting more exercise.

It's like I've been on a hand diet.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@pitney2000)
Eminent Member