Clear all

B minor chord

19 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@chymera)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi guys could any of you please tell me how to make the B minor chord? I need it for a song I'm trying to learn and when I look up diagrams of it there are five finger positionings. Im very new to playing and this makes no sense to me..Thanks alot

(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member

Am barred at the 2nd fret

ReplyQuote
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

There's more than one. The two you'll come across most often are x24432 and 799777, use whichever works for you and/or the song...

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

ReplyQuote
(@chymera)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

thanks lads. The problem is I don't undersatnd tablature yet as I am very new to guitars. Would it be possible you could explain to me where to put my fingers for e.g. 1st finger, 1st fret, 2nd string etc. Sorry about this but I really don't have much of a clue..

Also biker_jim, when you say barred at the second fret could you explain that please?

Thanks again guys

ReplyQuote
(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member

I would suggest reading one of the many barre chord threadslessons on this site

as misanthrope showed the X24432 is the first finger over all the strings at the 2nd fret (the barre) with the other fingers making an Am shape on at the 3rd and 4th frets instead of the 1st and 2nd. You don't play the topthick E string

ReplyQuote
(@chymera)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

sound a bit tricky but I'l get practicing, thanks again for the help guys.

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

If you're new to barre chords it could be tricky to do it that way. They take a while to get right.

The notes you need for a Bminor chord
are B, D and F sharp.