Skip to content
How do YOU Keep the...

Notifications
Clear all

How do YOU Keep the Old Songs in Good Shape?

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@dave-t)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Basically I have been playing acoustic for two years, started out on a lesson book, picked up some basic strumming and fingerpicking, then for the last year have been working on David's lessons up to Margaritaville. I have them down fairly well, although I stick mostly to strumming and am not too concerned about solos or embellishments. I just want to play the guitar for enjoyment and the odd time for a campfire or other gathering. My singing is good enough to get by on most tunes.

I have stripped down my practice routine in the 45 minutes to an hour I seem to find most days to ½ working on the strumming and picking of the two dozen or so songs in my repertoire I know well and the other ½ learning a new song. I am pretty diligent in learning a song carefully all the way through before I move it to my “repertoire”.

Finally, to the question. What works best on keeping the “repertoire” fresh? Try to run through each one at least one a week, ie: about 10 minutes on that song in a week, or maybe take one song per practice session? I've tried both methods and neither seems to work any better than the other. I seem to remember reading here or elsewhere about a “rule of three” in that adults learn best with three repetitions of relatively short duration close together as opposed to longer further apart sessions.

Thanks for any advice folks.

(@alangreen)

I run through my old repertoire a couple of times each week. There are some that get rested for a while, but it's not horribly complicated picking up on them again even if they've been resting for a couple of months.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk