Notifications
Clear all

Bands, gigging and the next step...

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@grooveywitch)
Topic starter  

So, here's the deal. I've been playing guitar for nearly two years and I'm very pleased with my progress. There are some things I need to work on, but other than that, I think I'm nearly ready to 'jump in' And that brings me to my questions...

Before I actually join a band, what is the bare minimum of equipment that I need? I play electric, and I have a teeny tiny practice amp that I'm sure won't work for gigs. So, I'll need something new. What should I look for in a new amp? Besides that, what else will I need? I can also sing, so will I need any extra equipment for that?

I'm sure I'll have more questions later, but if someone could help me out with this for now, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

In joining a band, though gigs are the goal, there's usually a pretty good period of rehearsal before the band is ready to play in public. Unless of course, the band already is established and have gigs, and you're just replacing a member. In the first scenario, you might not need that big of an amp - just something that can be heard during rehearsals. And a lot of times, first-gigs are in smaller venues, and you still don't need a huge, powerful amp. And even when you get to big venues, then there's sound-reinforcement PA systems and they can mic your amp, and you still don't need anything really loud and powerful.

Your amp is maybe 10-15 watts? Probably 50 watts would cover everything you'd need to do, from rehearsal to medium sized venues. And even if you're a younger person with a good back and all, it's sometimes a hassle to transport something like a 50 watt amp head and a 4x12 speaker cabinet; you might want to stay with a combo (speaker and amp together) format - just for convenience sake.