Clear all

Barre Chord Advice For Beginners

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@chilly-well-water)
Topic starter  

Hi-

I don't post much but have read some good things on this site so I figued I'd give something back. I've been playing for right at 3 years now and feel like I am a solid intermediate player and right or wrong I pride myself on being completely "self-taught".

To the point, I'm positive that somewhere along the line I read that when formng barre chords, your thumb should be perpendicular to the neck of the guitar, or pointing up toward the ceiling or sky, whatever the case may be. For whatever reason, I've been playing barre chords for three years with my thumb cocked way to the left, almost parrallel with the neck. It has worked for awhile and sounds o.k., but I recently discovered how much cleaner and truer my chords ring out when I force myself to play with my thumb in the proper position. The difference is night and day, especially on the A based major and minor barres.

When I quit thinking and just play, I always find my thumb in the improper postion and my playing suffers accordingly. I am basically having to take many steps back and practice the proper way, when I could have made myself do it right from the beginning. So beginners, please keep this in mind.

(@davidhodge)

Thumb position is something that almost everyone, it seems, struggles with at some point or another. One thing that seems to help is to try to not even think about your thumb. That may seem hard, but try this experiment: