Barre without using thumb

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@hello)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I've been playing for about 8 months now and the standard open chords are no problem anymore.
Two months ago i began with practicing barre chords and i've made some pretty good progress since then.

However, there is one major problem...my thumb really starts hurting after doing a few barre chords. Up till now i played through the pain telling myself that it would go away with practice, but when my thumb kept hurting for days after a weekend of hard playing i realized that this wasn't the way to go, so i began looking for alternatives.

I came across http://www.tabcrawler.com/articles.php?action=readarticle&articleid=82 this article which says not to use your thumb at all for barre but to pull from your back. I've been using this method for two days now and it's going pretty well. The quality of my barre isn't as good compared to squeezing with my thumb (especially low on the neck, 1st and 2nd frets), but it doesn't hurt my thumb at all, so hopefully the quality will improve with practice...

I'm wondering if there is anyone else who uses this method...i remember an article by David in which he told students to remove their thumbs from the back of the neck to do barrés, but i can't seem to find it anymore....

Cheers,
Pleph

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I dont use that method specifically, although the back tension/release is part of a physical therapy program I did to releive neck tension.

the main point of the article is about relaxation and posture.

also the remark about the barre F. I agree. one tough chord and that's where beginners start. why is that? learn barre chords higher on the neck to get the fingers and thumb and back prepared.

one doesnt have to kill the thumb with tons of pressure. sure some strength is needed, but importantly it is the release of the pressure after playing the chord.
squeeze an egg. same thing.