Clear all

bending, how many notes?

16 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@slowhand)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

hey, i have been playing guitar for about 3 months or so now, and i would like to know something about bending notes. if my mind servves me right then a full bend is 2 frets from the bend, like bending 5 to 7, anyhow, thats an ''A'' to an ''H'' making a full bend.. anyhow, if a tabs says fully bend the 12th fret on the E string should i then bend it up to ''F'' or F#'' if u know what im saying please respond,

(@corbind)
Noble Member

F#. You are right: a full step bend = two frets. A half step is one fret.

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

ReplyQuote
(@slowhand)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

yeah. a bend is typically one interval. an interval is two frets.
it is like playing a scale. you notice that most of the notes are an interval (two frets apart). a bend is an interval, but with soul.
bends are where we have the chance to put feeling into things.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Usually on a tab, it'll tell you how far to bend a note - something like 12b14r12. That'd mean play the note at the 12th fret, bend until it sounds like you're playing the same string at the 14th fret, then release the bend so you're playing the note at the 12th fret again.

Bending's one of those skills you tend to develop automatically - after a while, your ear will tell you what's right. Playing at the higher frets, it's not uncommon for a guitarist to play one note and bend it 4 or even 5 semitones!

:D :D :D

Vic