Clear all

Book for switching from acoustic to electric

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@gallileo)
Topic starter  

I've been lurking here a while, and love GN, but I finally have a question:

I've been playing acoustic for a couple of years now, not where I want to be, but it's coming along. Lately I've been thinking it would be fun to pick up an electric, but going into guitar center and noodling on them is pretty wierd, I"m hitting notes and chords, but it sounds more like poorly played acoustic than a poorly paid electric.

Is there a good book that talks about how the technique is different? Most seem to start too basic for me?

I'm looking at country and folk-rock styles if that makes a difference. Probably be picking up an Ibanez Fat-Strat copy and a cheap amp off of craigslist, as that seems like the most versatile....

g

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I know of no books that deals with that topic.
I do know how you feel.
the first time I played electric it was LOUD.

but now it isnt loud enough.

my advice is to simply plug in, turn up, and discover.

there is really no comparison, just differences.

some techniques are the same
some are different.

each has their own unique qualities. that's why I play both.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Hey Gallileo,

No I haven't seen any books about the difference between the two, and believe you me, I've been to GC, Borders, Barnes/Noble and scoured over all of their available guitar books.

As simply as I can put it.. this is my experience (adjusting) between the two.

Accoustic: You need to FINESSE the sound out of the instrument.
Electric: You need to CONTROL the sound out of the instrument.

Electrics is a light light touch. Alot of Palm and Left Hand Muting. Todays pickups are so sensitive it doesn't take much to make a sound.