Classifying the Blues

19 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I know there are many different styles of the Blues but I have a hard time determining the different styles. What would Robert Johnston be considered, or is it more determined by the song rather than the artist?

Trying to get alot deeper into the Blues.

Thanks in advance
Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'm no expert, but I always considered RJ "Delta Blues" - it'd be nice if someone could come up with an exhaustive list, from Delta Blues through Chicago Blues to country Blues with a few examples of each genre....

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

Excellent question.

There are five main blues styles:
Chicago blues (Muddy Waters),
Delta blues (Robert Johnson),
Texas Blues (SRV),
Kansas City blues (Charlie Parker)
and West Coast blues (Charles Brown).

Characteristics
Chicago blues is probably the most popular and most easily recognized. There is generous use of loud amplification and slide guitar. The major scale is used quite a bit in this style and the template for chords often changes to dominant 9ths instead of 7ths.

Delta blues (or missisippi blues) is moslty acoustic. You'll know it when you hear it. Lots of Robert Johnson-esque walking bass lines and alternate picking is used.

Texas Blues is loud and aggressive. You've just gotta listen to SRV or ZZ Top or somebody to get a good idea of it.

Kansas city blues is kinda hard to classify for me. There are magnificent singers and harmonica players that are considered Kansas city bluesists. I really dont know how to explain this one.