Clear all

Complete Beginner.

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@coolconfusion)
Topic starter  

Hi!

I'm 14 and have never picked up a guitar in my life. But just recently, I've decided to start playing.
I really need your help with a few things. I've scoured every music website I can find and haven't got good answers for any of em, so I was hoping real people could help me out. My questions are:
1. Acoustic or Electric?
You see, this is a kinda common question, but it's one I've had alot of problems with. I'm really concerned about price, so originally I thought that acoustic was the way to go. But then I remembered something:
I do not like the sound of an acoustic guitar! :x
See, I listen to late 70s Punk (Clash, Pistols, Ramones, Jam). They don't use acoutic in Punk. :wink:
Anyway, I could bear playing it, but I don't think that it would do much for me.
2. Value
Alright, here's the deal: I'm buying this guitar. I think I'll only have around $120-or-so to get what I need (guitar, amp, cord) to start playing. So I am really concerned about quality, because I don't want a piece of crap that'll break in a week. Plus, what if I don't like it? Guitars are big investments. This is making me think that maybe I should get a used guitar. is this a good idea?
3. Playability (Is that a word?)
Ok, here's my next point: I need something *relatively* easy to play. As I said, I never played a guitar before! Ever! :oops:
I don't know anything about what are good brands besides maybe Gibson and um... um..... :oops:
4.What I'm currently looking at
I go to a little music store in Melrose, MA. There, they had a used Baja guitar for $59. This jumped out at me, and I just want to know if the guitar is any good. I don't want to buy a piece of crap! Do you guys (and girls) have any other good guitars?
5. Reccomendations
What do you reccommend for a beginner? What kind of guitar? Amp? Effect?
Thanks for putting up with me!
CoolConfusion

(@cd-60-blk)
Eminent Member