Clear all

Did I mess up already?

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for a couple of months now, making decent progress I guess. I was in highschool band so the theory part isn't too hard. I bought a starter package from my local guitar center which was a Squier Strat with a Fender Frontman amp. I don't see myselg quitting anytime soon, so I've already been looking into a better amp or an effects processor. My question is did I make a mistake on this guitar? After reading a few posts here, I've seen that maybe the Squier isn't such a great guitar and maybe I should've invested in better equipment if I planned on staying with it. Are there things I can do to the Squier to make it a better guitar, or should I use it as is and upgrade once I know for sure what I want? Like I mentioned earlier, I don't see myself quitting :)

(@apefeet)
Eminent Member

I think the only mistaken guitar purchase is the one that sits in the
closet that does not get played. I got my son a Squire bullet guitar
and it is a very well built guitar, very playable, and good sound. It is
perfect for him to learn on (now the guitar does not have quality or
sound of a american made fender, it is still a very good guitar).
Eventualy you are going to want to get another guitar and amp. Then you
can either keep your Squire for a different sound, sell it, or give it to
someone who is just starting out and can't afford a new one.

I would save my money and buy a good effects processor next, that can
totally change the sound of a guitar. As long as you like the sound and
feel of the guitar and want to play it you did not make a mistake.

Rich

ReplyQuote
(@boudreau)
Eminent Member