Clear all

First Amp Suggestions

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hey all, I just started playing the guitar about a month ago. First I bought a Yamaha acoustic, then quickly realized I made a mistake and bought a beginner electric combo, a Squier with a Fender Frontman amp. It's a decent starter package, but the amp is pretty basic. It is fine for clean sound, but doesn't have alot of options. I'm looking for something a little nicer that will give me more of a variety of sounds. I know I don't need need alot at this point, I just want something that I can get more effects with that will keep me interested and playing longer. ANy suggestions?

(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

I've heard lots of people say good things about the Roland Cube, or Micro Cube, I forget which.

But, like people here say nearly every time sombody asks: It's entirely up to your taste and you should really just go try some out instead of listening to what we've gotta say. Take your axe down to the guitar shop and play through a bunch of amps to find the one you want. We could make a list of recomendations a mile long, but you should still try everything you can get your hands on and base your decision over that.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member

For about $250.00 you can get a BEHRINGER V-tone gmx 212-Its 50watts , 2- 12 inch speakers And is a modeling amp. It's very versatile and can be used for country, blues, rock , metal, and any thing in between. I have had mine for about 6 months with no problems. this amp is better than most amps costing twice as much in my opinion 8) . they have a gmx 2-10 and 1-10 also . check out musicians friend.com, i think they have sound samples.--the dog

My Youtube Page
http://www.youtube.com/user/smokindog
http://www.soundclick.com/smokindogandthebluezers

http://www.soundclick.com/guitarforumjams

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member