Clear all

# = flat/sharp?

20 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@slodogg)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

title says it all. I saw a video where the guy said flats and sharps are the same thing, having the same sound. I noticed on the fretboard map that number looking symbol and was wondering if thats the flat/sharp sign?

SLODOGG62

(@denny)
Reputable Member

#=sharp. b=flat

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

A # is a sharp.
A b is a flat.

To quote our very own David Hodge from the Absolute Beginner section, 'Your Very Own Rosetta Stone' article https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/how-to-read-musical-notation-part-1/

"The "#" means "sharp" or one half step above the note of the letter. C#, for example, is a half step above C. A "b" is a "flat" sign, meaning that we have moved a half step down from the note of the letter. Eb is a half step below E. And let's note here that this does indeed mean that some notes actually share the same name. "Ab" and "G#" are, for our purposes, the same note. Here's a handy chart:

A# - same note as - Bb
B - same note as - Cb
B# - same note as - C (natural)
C# - same note as - Db
D# - same note as - Eb
E - same note as - Fb
E# - same note as - F
F# - same note as - Gb
G# - same note as - Ab

In musical notation, the symbols for flats and sharps are called accidentals. There is also an accidental for "natural" meaning that the note should be the straight letter value, neither flat nor sharp. "

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

flats or sharps appear in modal scales. how they are used defines the scale.
when we think of a sharp as a half step above the root note it is not a far reach to understand
that two half steps makes an interval.