Skip to content
GAS attack - bought...

Notifications
Clear all

GAS attack - bought myself a Birthday Gift... a month early!

25 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@ejwebb)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

Newbie here with just a few posts. I thought I would share my GAS attack with you all!!

I went into the guitar store convinced I would find a nice used Mexican strat and a little VOX DA5 amp. Well, after playing with several guitars (including strats) at a few stores - I came home with this:

The guitar is an Ibanez Artcore AS73 and the amp is a VOX AD15VT.

They say you don't choose the guitar - it chooses you. That was definitely true in this case - once I held this one I just knew it was the one... Since my birthday is in July I told my wife I would put it away until then - she said "like that's gonna happen".

Now I just need to learn how to play this beautiful instrument!! Any advice on the guitar/amp are much appreciated.

(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

Advice? That's easy ---> plug the guitar into the amp and play, OFTEN! It is really that easy (and that hard). You don't mention your level of experience, are you a brand new beginner? The reason I ask, is that it makes a difference on the advice posters will give you.

If you are a complete beginner, check out David Hodge's beginner lessons on this site. Also, consider a local teacher to give you a good start.

ReplyQuote
(@causnorign)
Honorable Member

Hmmm. A month early, does that mean you get another gift when your birthday really comes? :?

ReplyQuote
(@ejwebb)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Pretty much a beginner. I have been taking private lessons on an acoustic for about 6 weeks. I know about nine cords, a few common chord progressions and a few scales at this point. I have been working on strumming with rhythm and making chord changes in time - not easy. I have picked the Eagles Take It Easy as a first song to play and the thread on this site was helpful.