Greetings and a question.

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hey everybody,

*Tips hat and bows* This is my first post here, so first of all HELLOOO :D Like you, I worship the guitar. Im a newb (been playing for 'bout 3 months) and I have a quick question. I have a pretty crappy tool at the moment (a behringer stratocaster imitation) but it gets the job done and has served me well so far. However, a cousin of mine is willing to sell me a REAL strat (Yngwie Malmsteen model!) for 700 smackers!!! But, my uncle - whome has been playing guitar for a while now - says that that particular model isnt good for a beginner. He said that the fretboard isnt good for learning or something like that and its best to pass and save my money. Anyway, im just really psyched that I could get a real artist strat (albeit a used one) for so darn cheap. So, I need to know if I should snatch it up or take my uncles advice and save my money. Thanks in advance dudes...

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Take your uncle's advice.

The Malmsteen Strat has a scalloped fretboard. What that means is it isn't flat - between each of the fretwires the fretboard is in a slight "U" shape. When it's played, your finertips don't actually touch the fretboard... they just touch the string enough so the fretwire creates the tone.

To get a good tone from a scalloped board, you must have a good feel for the guitar. Because a beginner's fingertips are usually very soft - not a good base of callus has developed yet - you'll need to press harder than you're supposed to. That means the notes will go sharp as you push past the fret.