Clear all

Guitar Rig?

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@ricola)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

First off, I'm new to guitars. I've been playing an acoustic for almost 2 months and I'm loving it.

1. I've been looking into electric guitars recently and have all but decided on an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Electric Guitar.

2. I will need to practice using headphones. Its due to our current living situation.
3. I have a mac and would love to record to it. Garageband?
4. Also I have no where to put an amp and leave it. So I was looking into software amp and effect emulation such as Guitar Rig 2.

Now please, please correct me if I'm way off on this one. It seems guitar rig 2 will allow me to play through the computer via the Rig Kontrol 2. The various amps, effects, eqs looks/sounds stunning to me and would allow me to get various sounds at a reasonable cost ratio. Plus the portability is a huge bonus.

Now the questions.
Anyone here use Macs and Guitar Rig?
What are your thoughts, opinions of guitar rig 2?
What would I need to get started?
Do I need anthing other than the guitar, laptop and guitar rig 2? What cables?

Thanks for your input and remember I'm new at all of this so please forgive my total ignorance.

Psa. 42:8
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

(@Anonymous)

TonePort is another good choice as is GuitarPort. The Behringer V-Amp 2 is very nice as is the POD XT (same as v-amp but more expensive). They will allow you to use headphones (the v-amp has a built in headphone jack...not sure about the POD?). GuitarPort and TonePort both connect to your computer and use software for amp sims and effects. Very nice.

As for recording on the Mac I am not really sure? I have heard of GarageBand and heard it was good. I use Audacity on the PC but I am not sure if they have a Mac version?

ReplyQuote
(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member

These are supposed to be very good compared with the Epis