Notifications
Clear all

hello all, some questions

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@darkpixel)
Topic starter  

Hi all, great site and nice forum here :) I'm pretty new to the guitar, but not completely new to music. I've been playing the piano for about 3 years, but that won't help any here except for some basic musical theory and a few other things.

Anyway, I've got an electric (no amp yet though) and have been playing the beginner lessons from the site here for the past week. And I'm finding it very difficult playing for more than 5-10 minutes because my finger tips turn dark blue and it feels like if I press the high E once more they'll start bleeding. I've wondered if I'm just suffering from newbie fingers and it's something I'll have to just live through. So what I've been doing also is trying to pretty much beat up my finger tips as much as I can during the normal activities of my day, mostly just stabbing the fingertips with my nails. So ya, a week of fingertip abuse and playing some basic E and A chords (trying to be patient with the conditioning before trying to learn anything) and I'm barely feeling a difference in tolerance in my fingertips.

So my questions I guess is how long does it take the average person's fingertips to get used to playing for more than 10 minutes and not feel like their strings are diamond-edge cutting knifes?

Since I'm not too hardware knowledgable I'll ask this too, is there a specific type of strings that I should have on my guitar when I'm learning to play (or that is recommended)? The guitar was my dad's, whos fingers are pretty worn out so he didn't mind the strings.

And for my last question (for now hehe), it's about excersizes. From my piano playing I would assume that to work on technique you'd pretty much be good with playing scales at first and getting familiarized with simple chords. Anything else that anyone would suggest just to get the fingers trained?

Well thanks for any input anyone gives :)