Notifications
Clear all

Help with Guitar Noise!!!!

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@qoo111)
Topic starter  

I have Fender Standard Stratocaster. It was about $450 (I dont remember). Also I have Marshall MG4 Series MG50FX 50W and couple of pedals. My question is that it gives me lots of noise. (By the way, im using Monster cables).
So I connected from my guitar to amp (no pedals connected). It still gave me noise.
For test purpose, I used the monster cable for my acoustic guitar. Still gave me noise.
Funny thing is that whenever i use cheap cables ($5), there is no noise.
A lot of people mentioned that the noise disappeared after they used monster cable.
I have no idea. is my monster cable defective?
Or is there qualification for using monster cables? (meaning amp and guitar have to be above standard?)
Please help....

(@kroikey)
Reputable Member

It sounds like you've already diagnosed the issue and are now hoping your wrong!
I'm no good with amps, effects and cables, but I'm a developer who has to diagnose things often.
I'd say its the cable!

On the off chance, make sure all electrical equipment is off and redo the test.

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Call Monster. For what you paid for it they should replace the cable.

And I think you discovered a valuable lesson in the long run....Monster cables are overkill. A decent low cost cable works fine. I use Mogami cables and they are fine cables.

ReplyQuote
(@adrianjmartin)
Estimable Member

Monster's behavior in the HDMI cable market would make me avoid Monster cable in any sector - their sales pitches and specifications are so full of rubbish....

read up on them at wikipedia and some of the refrenced sources

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monster_cable#Controversy

Get your money back on the Monster Cable and get a decent cable for 1/5th the price

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

They have a lifetime warranty....

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member