Clear all

How about to young?

20 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@dmbfan)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I started playing this year at age 37. I want my kids to start much earlier. They seem interested but I don't know if they have the attention span. My older daughter is 12 and has been playing piano for a number of years. I don't think her early lesson did much for her though. The were group lessons and I don't remember feeling it was worth it. My younger ones are 4 and 5. Anyone given lessons to young children? I see a lot of posts for am I to old so I ask what is to young?

Narn
(@narn)
Estimable Member

I think 4 is too young.

If a lesson is kept short, with songs that interest a 5 year old they may well be able to hack it. If you force them to go when they don't want to you may turn them from music for a very long time though.

It's a tough call. It may be an idea to get the older child a small guitar and let them "help" you out when you practice in order to gauge interest before paying for lessons.

"You want WHAT on the *&%#ing ceiling?" - Michelangelo, 1566

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

If the interest is there, you're never too young.

However, you shouldn't push a child of that age - encouragement is fine "hey, that sounded great!". Let a child of 4 or 5 go at it's own pace, a result may not be seen for 10 years, but the lack of pressure will bring bigger rewards later rather than smaller ones sooner.

Think of those idiotic pageants that have 4 and 5 year olds competing for "Miss Redneck America" or whatever - those kids are in psychiatric care from about 10 onwards.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member