Clear all

Guitar Electronics for Dummies

14 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@sinister_hack)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Now that I'm getting my first electric I'm seeing this whole new world of gadgets. This is, at the same time, exciting and overwhelming. I have no idea what almost all of the effects pedals do. Most of the knobs on the amp that's arriving today will go right over my head.

Is there a web site somewhere or a previous post that explains a lot of the basic doo-dads and whatzits that go along with electric guitars? Bear in mind that short of taking apart perfectly good household electronics and putting them back together with parts left over I have no electronics experience so you can skip over those sites with charts, graphs, and heavy usage of words like ohm and and anything that ends in -ode. :)

Any help would be appreciated and I'm most concerned with what I'll be faced with immediately like what the heck Gain is.

Thanks!

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Most amps have:
Gain - preamp volume, which is where you get the distortion from. Like using a megaphone to shout into a microphone.
Volume - power amp volume, which converts to ringing in the ears, higher numbers mean more ringing, lower numbers mean less ringing.
Bass - how much boom boom you like in your sound
Middle - Adjusts how much of the normal shouting tones you have
Treble - Adjusts how much of the little boy shouting tones you have

Just play around for a while and when you have any specific questions, we're here to answer them - although how serious some of the answers will be I can't say. :lol: :lol:

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@forrok_star)
Noble Member