Skip to content
How to keep skill l...

Notifications
Clear all

How to keep skill level from fading on vacation?

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@conuvial)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been practicing hard since I started playing several months ago, learning scales - exercises - chords - a few songs - building calluses. If I miss a day I feel like I've taken a couple of steps backwards. Now vacation time is here - what's the best things to do to keep your skills sharp if you can't play?

"...it's in him, and it got to come out..." - JLH

Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

Unless you are going on vacation for 2 months, I don't think you'll fall behind much at all. A couple of weeks away from the guitar won't kill you - in fact, it'll probably revamp your desire to pick it up and practice.

However, somethings you could do are:

Go through scales in your head, with just letters, as well as picturing the fretboard and where the notes are

Do finger/hand exercises - some are as simple as drumming your fingers on a table or desk, much like running through scales

Check out some new styles of music, see if there's anything you'd like to learn for when you get back

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@conuvial)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Thanks Taso - those are good tips.

I wish I could take off for 2 months - I just wouldn't have a job when I got back.....

ReplyQuote
(@globetro)
Estimable Member

Yeah, I worry about the vacation thing too. I figure I can brush up on some theory stuff during my vacation, and hope that some time off from practicing will help give my brain some time to gel all the new stuff I've been learning.

ReplyQuote
(@frank2121)
Reputable Member

I was asleep for 2 months and when i woke up and started playing again after proberly 4 or 5 months i dont think i forgot anything, just took a while to get fingers moving again but that was cool cuz you could correct little mistakes you had in the first place
So no need to worrie :lol:

ReplyQuote