Clear all

How To Turn a Christmas Gift Into a Success

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@aodor)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Yes, I gave myself an Epi for Christmas. I used to play the guitar some 20 years ago while in highschool and college. Never took lessons and used it only to play chords while singing.

I can read music notation as I played the accordeon as a child. Tablature reading seems to be an easy task.

I'm a researcher in Medical Informatics and have no time to take formal lessons, but I want to realy learn how to play the guitar.

So, the question is:

If you want to self teach yourself to play the guitar where do you begin considering the limited musical education I mentioned above?

1. Do you start by learning the scales? If so, which ones do you learn first?
2. Does learning the scales mean to memorize every note in the fretboard?
3. Do you learn the chords and every variation there is to play each one?
4. Are software programs like Guitar Pro useful in the learning phase?

Please elaborate as much as you can around this topic as I don't want to be polishing my guitar instead of playing it.

============
Alberto Odor, MD
Mexico City
============

(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

There are a number of different approaches you can take depending on what you want to accomplish. There are some excellent lessons here that most find very helpful, click the 'Lessons' tab at the top of the page.

It sounds like you want to learn to play guitar and not just learn a few songs. In that case, I would pick up a decent book and work your way through that. There are a number of good books the Hal Leonard Guitar Method and Hal Leonard Fast Tracks series are a couple of good one - there are others.

Of course, you've already found a great resource for questions you may have, there are all sorts of talented, helpful people here.

Good luck and enjoy your Christmas present.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.