Notifications
Clear all

I am so confused... Help?

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@rmaki)
Topic starter  

so i have been taking guitar lessons but i am only learning picking so far and i really want to play songs with strumming. I want to learn to play missing you by tyler hilton. heres the chords i found for it and i dont even know if there accurate. http://www.tabcrawler.com/search.php?show=viewfile&id=537575&letter=t&artist=tyler+hilton&tabname=missing+you+chords&tabtype=guitar+chord
but i really want to play the song and since im not experienced i dont know how to figure out the strumming pattern or when to switch chords during the pattern or if you even switch chords. please help me!!!

KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

That's something you should be telling your guitar teacher.
Print out the tab you posted and show it to him. Ask him to play it for you.
It will give you an idea of what's involved in playing it.
You're going to have to learn some chords as well as the strumming pattern.

You want to write a book and you are learning the alphabet.
Don't get frustrated. It will be a while before you can do that song.

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Also, there's a very good chance that, even though these chords may be right, the guitarist may be playing something different. Most guitarists will play open chords with a capo rather than to play a song full of C#, F# and G# chords. And this is something else your teacher can help you with. Not to mention many of the articles and lessons here on the Guitar Noise website.

Keep with it and don't get frustrated. We've all been through this phase of learning at one point or another (and often many more times than we'd care to admit! :wink: )

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@dubyatf)
Trusted Member