I think i bought the wrong guitar...

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
 cao
(@cao)
Topic starter  

Hello GNF,

Well as you've noticed I'm new to the forums [great site], and have been just searching and reading through many different posts trying to find an answer.

I'm very new to playing guitar, and have been playing on a friend's guitar for only a few days, just learning a the basic chords. Well of course, it's not possible for me to practice playing with his guitar at on my own time, so he suggested that I purchase my own.

After much research and debating, I bought the Yamaha FG700S folk acoustic guitar online. Plenty of good reviews and the price was on the mark. However, once it came in, I realize it's a bit too big. I'm 5'6'' but it still didn't feel comfortable in my lap. While playing the Yamaha, my right shoulder starts to become very tired after a few minutes of playing. The reason for the online purchase is because the music shops around here either don't carry Yamaha's or their lowest price guitar would $350-400 on up. Besides the kid's guitars that have the graphics on it.

My main question is, could you recommend me a better fitting guitar that's a little bit smaller than FG700S with the same avg price range $200-300. I'm not sure how much smaller I'll need to go but, maybe an OM' sized guitar? Also, I know that Martin guitars have their own sizing guide such as 000 to 0000 in sizing, but for Yamaha or some other brands I'm not familiar with how they name their sizes.

Thanks in advance
-cao

(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to GN, Cao.

I cannot answer your main question. I'm not up with accoustics that much. I will suggest that you verify, somehow, that you are playing in the proper playing position. I'd hate to see you get rid of a guitar that you otherwise like because of improper playing position. I think there's an article on the GN site about it.

Roy