I want to be like slash..

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@markthechuck)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

All

I've been playing for about 5 months mostly rhythm, been getting tonnes of help from members at "GN", doing as well as expected, having lessons, changed my teacher the last couple of weeks as i want to learn lead, the new guy is spot on he's in my friends band and can do some amazing things and he's only 18, 12yrs my jnr, normally i wouldn't like someone that much younger than me teaching me something but he's something else, anyway, i'm getting there with the lead thing slowly it helped i think that i got a bit of rhythm down first, learning bohemian rhapsody at the moment it's cool as it has loads of different stuff in there, what sort of things did you lead guitarist first learn that helped with your progresion? And i really do want to play like Slash.. 8)

A knock back is the beginning of a comeback!!!

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Start with the blues. Espscially if you like Slash.

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

+1

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member

Here it is - ''/''. You just have to bend 30 degrees backwards and you become like a slash. (Reverse for becoming a backslash - '''').

LOL, kidding aside, to play like Slash you have to end up with a LOT of practice. It will take you much more than 5 months, so keep trying and learning. Learn your scales, play them note by note and then try to play them fast.

Learn how to bend properly as Slash really does that a lot. You can start by playing note by note through tabs. Later you can try playing along the CD. Record yourself and compare after sometime. To specifically help playing a riff, some looper kind of thing can be helpful.