Clear all

Introduction (and that C chord!)

18 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@selfie)
Topic starter  

Hi people,

This is a repeat of a post I impulsively made in someone else's thread. Really sorry for the faux paux. Can you tell I don't post in forums very often? This one looks great, though, as does the entire website.

Here's what I posted about the C chord:

How on EARTH are my fingers supposed to assume this position comfortably? It seems like my ring and middle fingers just don't want to come apart enough. I just started playing -- toying, really -- as I needed something to do during the summer. But not being able to form this C chord is very discouraging. Anything I should be doing differently? My pinky wants to become involved (instead of the ring finger), but I wonder if that will mess up my chord progressions later?

I suppose this raises another question: I like to sit with the guitar and play with it, get it to talk to me, just finger different combinations to see what kinds of sounds it can make. Will this kind of activity instill bad habits? Should I be try to be more rigid and structured in my approach and avoid this playin' around stuff until I get better habits?

Some of my discouragement has melted away already, but still, I just can't imagine it ever feeling natural to hold a C chord (let alone easily switch to that position from a G or some other variation.) Is it possible my hands are just naturally inept or is this a common experience?

Selfie

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Hello Selfie,
Welcome to Guitar Noise.
Yes it is normal to have problems like you describe.
It will get better before you know it and you will have trouble with other chords people commonly have trouble with like D and F.
Just playing aimlessly as you sometimes do is called Noodling and it is not nessecarily a bad thing. You are still exercising your fingers and learning to get them to work independently.