Clear all

Just bought a guitar

16 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@jedisteven)
Topic starter  

Hi,

Been lurking around for a couple weeks after deciding to learn to play the guitar. Bought a electric last week and have been having fun ever since. This has to be the most informative web site I have ever seen. Any way, I have a question. How long dose it take for the calluses to form? My fingers are killing me. And finger strength, especially in the pinky, when did it start to come around for you experienced players?

(@ghost)
Prominent Member

Hi, JediSteven. Welcome to GN.

It only took me about a week for my calluses to form. They do peel off and reform as your finger tips grow tougher. When I started playing guitar for the second time in 14 years it took me at least 6 months to tell the difference with hand strenght, as for my pinky, well that was about the same. It'll probably vary from person to person to.

Just keep hammering away at scales and chords, and have fun doing it.

Oh, and congrats on your guitar.

:D

"If I had a time machine, I'd go back and tell me to practise that bloody guitar!" -Vic Lewis

Everything is 42..... again.

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Welcome Jedi,

Welcome to, what I think, is the best Guitar Forum on the NET!

It took me about two to three weeks, but I was learning on an accoustic. The pain went away in about a week, but it took a little longer for the callouses to form up nice. They will build up quite large at first then go back to normal, when that happens you can use an emry board or some sand paper to "File" em down a little bit, but don't bite or peel them off or you'll have to start all over with them.

Keep drilling, the four finger drill(s) I still work on em after a year+ of playing. Its like warming up before I play, plus as you work the muscles (new ones) you could hurt yourself if you don't stretch and warm up first.

Keep at it.. like my teacher says.. better to play it slow and correct, than fast and sloppy. :)