Notifications
Clear all

Learning Scales

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@darkn3ss)
Topic starter  

How am I suppose to practice scales? For example if i want learn the major scale do i just play the scale pattern, say for c major, over and over until my fingers have memorized that pattern and then move on to another note and do the same until I've memorized all the note patterns for the major scale? After that do I just move onto another scale and do the same? Sorry if this doesnt make sense. I'm new to scales. What i want to do is start making my own arrangements in fingerstyle and i heard from others that i should start learning scales. If someone could guide me towards the right path, I would appreciate it. Also trying to learn the notes on the fretboard.Slow progress but getting there.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Big topic. Bear with me.

Learning a scale sort of takes three phases. In phase one, you do exactly what you're doing - play it over and over and get it into muscle memory.

But scales ain't solos. A solo is going to have some passages that are scalar, but in spots it's going to skip scale degrees... so you want to wrap your ears around the possibilities. To do that, practice scales in intervals. For example, let's say you're working on a G scale in third position:

----------------------------3-5-7
------------------------5-7-------
------------------4-5-7----------
------------4-5-7----------------
------3-5-7----------------------
3-5-7----------------------------

You can practice the same scale in thirds:

--------------------------------------------------3---5-3-7-
------------------------------------------5---7-5---7-------
------------------------------4---5-4-7-5---7---------------
------------------4---5-4-7-5---7---------------------------
------3---5-3-7-5---7---------------------------------------
3-7-5---7---------------------------------------------------

or fourths, fifths, sixths...