Notifications
Clear all

Learning scales

47 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@sarton)
Estimable Member

Again, I'm no expert, but here's my understanding of 'keys'. Of course, I'm still learning, so this might be complete hogwash.

A friend of mine has been in music for all his life. He pointed out to me that much of the nomenclature we used to describe music came after the fact. People started making music. As they made music, they started grouping certain notes together (hey! this sounds cool together, but that sounds out of place). There was also the feeling that the music evoked. When a song starts somewhere, it doens't sound finished until it comes back to where it started. Then, someone had the idea of giving it all names.

So, the concept of a 'key' is a way of naming what will work in the song. It's also hints at what the song will need to sound complete. It's just an easy way of saying, "Hey, use these notes, start here, and end here." Nothing says you have to do that, but it helps the listener understand the song.

A sucking chest wound is Nature's way of telling you to slow down.

Godin Freeway Classic, PodXT Live, Seymour-Duncan 84-50.
(All this so I could learn 'Twinkle, Twinkle, Little' Star for my youngest.)

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Ahh ok, I supposed you could use random colors/notes and somehow get a good piece. Not impossible, but unlikely. Be easier to stick to keys.

Do open chords change shape(fingering) with different keys? Barre chords? Power chords?

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Do open chords change shape(fingering) with different keys? Barre chords? Power chords?
No, open chords,power chords, barr chords, don't change shapes or fingerings, what does change is what chords to play, just like what notes to play.
Quick example. I,IV,V progression (that is the 1st, 4th and 5th major chords of a key)
In the key of G the chords are G, C, D
In the Key of C the chords would be C, F, G