left handed

24 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@homeward_bound)
Topic starter  

guyz this is my ist post on this forum,
so ist of all hi to all.

well i am total newbie to this guitar stuff.
i am planning to learn playing it.

i have a question. i.e
i am a left hander,
i want to learn spanish guitar.

so ar there any differences in the guitar for left handed persons
or ar they same.
is there any differences in the reading of tabs.

plz elaborate on this query,

ciao

dave

i wish i was homeward bound

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Sorry that I dont have your answer but just wanted to say welcome to GN!!

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Dave

I am left handed so i will try to asnwer your question as best i can.

Yes there are differences! First of all the guitar is built totally back to frint, like looking in a mirror. So if you go and hold a right handed guitar, the strings will be the wrong way up, with the bass string nearest the floor...

Look up some old pictures of Hendrix playing his white Fender Strat - he has it strung for a left handed person - but the guitar is upside down (look at the tuners!).

So you must buy a guitar specially for a lefty.

As for tabs, I find them easy to read and I don't see how being left or right handed makes a difference. The only thing that sometimes confused me where chord boxes in books, i have to imagine a mirror image of these.

I can't speak for Spanish Guitar, but the principles are the same.

Good luck

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@laoch)
Estimable Member

Dave

I am also a lefty and there are a number of us here on Guitar Noise. There are a number of decent left-handed guitars available nowadays but you may have better luck using the internet rather than your local shop (but some guitar shops do carry left-handed guitars and it is certainly worth investigating).