Clear all

Need a bit of Guidance

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jameswigan)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm 13, playing acoustic since early septemberish. Learning from a book ATM, looking for some lessons but none avalible in my area at decent times for me. I also do some of the Easy Songs for Begginers from this site. Sometimes I have trouble with some chords due to the smallish size of my hand ( :wink: ) but going ok. I do practice usually 2/3 half hours a week, but sometimes I go and just play some simple tunes that I enjoy. :D All I wanted to know is (with no teacher) I'm not really sure what goals I should be setting myself at this stage. I also wanted to know whether I sould perfect things before moving on- or get them O.K and then go back and practice them sometimes. Thanks a lot. JK.

(@Anonymous)

I made the mistake of trying to play the songs that I was learning perfectly before moving on to other things when I was a beginner. End result: I would play a single song for 2 months, with very little improvement between week #3 and week #8. I think that when you're a beginner, it's better to get a song OK and then practice something else. Because by practicing something different it will also help to make you better in general, and when you go back to that first song, you'll be able to play it a lot better even without having practiced it.

ReplyQuote
 Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

Some important things to do when you first start:

Learn all the major chords, and then all the minor chords.

Learn the string names

Learn the basic 12 bar blues pattern and memorize it.

I'm sure there a bunch of others, but I don't want to keep rattling off if you already know these things - What do you know?

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@welshman)
Estimable Member