Clear all

Newbie here with first time questions

16 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@joeyfivethumbs)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I have been lurking these forums for a month and finally took the plung. I got a fender starcaster starter kit, yes the cheap package :D This is my first venture into guitar playing, so i couldn't justify spending more than $200. I do plan on sticking with it though, so maybe in a year who knows. I am 36 and always loved all kinds of music, but my favorite is the blues(John Lee Hooker, Robert Johnson, SRV...love em all.

Now the first issues I am running into:
My guitar just doesn't sound good. I don't mean my horrid playing or terrible amp, but those do add to it. I don't think it is tuned correctly. The kit came a chromatic tuner that is just a little more than useless IMO. Can anyone give me some tips on how to use it or point me to an inexpensive electric tuner that works better? I don't expect to this guitar to sound great, but having it properly tuned is good enough for me to learn.

Secondly, I have been poking around for sometime looking at different websites and youtube. I don't have immediate plans to take lessons, but it isn't out the realm of possibility either. So I am looking for some system to get started. I have my eyes on a beginner blues book from the "House of Blues". So far i have tried a couple scales, a few chords... Any pointers would be most appreciated.

Third, are there any exercises I can do to stretch out my fingers. All of the chords I have tried "feel" terrible. I especially have problems where I need to spread my fingers across 3 frets.

Thanks to anyone who has taken the time to read this. I have lurked around at some other guitar sites, but this community seems to be the most supportive. Hope to hear from some of you.

(@beaner)
Estimable Member

Hiya,

You're about the same age as me and I am just returning to playing after a very long break.