Clear all

Newbie Questions

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@iraesq)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

This is my first post, though I've found reading others' thoughts and advice on this board to be very helpful. I've been playing for about 2 months (age 36!!), and I'm enjoying it and making (slow) progress. That said, I have been experiencing some frustrating problems for which I am seeking some sage advice (most of the problems may be related to the fact that I have small hands...or may be not).

1. Difficulty reaching over three frets consistently without buzzing or muting other strings (F chord and C chord, though I'm getting better with the C). Will changing my thumb position help? Are there other suggestions?

2. I occasionally am (unintentionally) muting the high E string with my fretting palm.

3. Power chords...hard to play and even harder to get them sound like something other than torturing a cat.

4. Strumming....I have trouble figuring out the strumming patterns on songs that I'm fiddling with. Are there any tried-and-true default patterns and what can I do to get better at figuring out the best patterns.

I'm sure I'll have a million other questions, but these are the ones bugging me a lot right now.

(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

Hi,

1. I seriously doubt the size or you hands is a problem. It just takes practice. A position that is barely possible to fret cleanly will eventually become easy. Yes your thumb should be mobile, moving to make each chord shape easier. The best advice is to relax and do not choke the neck.

2. Muting the high e with you fretting hand is a little unusual. I do it intentionally on some chords. To do it I have to choke the neck. Could you be choking the neck? There should normally be space between the your hand and the neck, the only exception is an open D.