Skip to content
OK to use thumb ins...

Notifications
Clear all

OK to use thumb instead of pick to locate correct strings?

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@andsoitgoes)
Topic starter  

While there are pleny of discussions on whether it sounds better to use fingers or a pick, I can't seem to find answers to this specific question:

I am a very green beginner on the electric acousic and don't even have an amp yet. I have started by learning to pick out very basic melodies and chords without using a pick but only my thumb with simple downstrokes. When I started trying to use a pick it was very awkward and difficult, although it is seeming to get a little easier with practice. My biggest problem with the pick is that it is harder to find and play the string I am fretting while reading sheet music. I try to play while reading the music and never looking at what my hands are doing. Often times, I will hit the wrong string because I can't actually feel the strings or count where they are by touch. Also, it seems much easier to quickly mute the sound my string is making by quickly touching the string with my thumb before hitting the next note. Is it OK to that with a pick as well even though it seems to create alot more buzz? Should I be using the base of my hand to mute all strings anyway? Skipping the pick and using only my thumb seems alot easier to control but I don't want to develope bad habbits. Any advice?

On a related note, when playing with my thumb, I seem to be resting my pinky and ring fingers on the wood down by the pick guard. is that also bad form? it seems to provide a solid base for my thumb to more easily pick out the strings. And, my hand doesn't seem to get as tired.

Sorry if I sound completely ignorant. I'm trying to teach myself (with the aid of books and internet) and I would appreciate any advice.

lars
(@lars)
Noble Member