picking direction with alternate picking

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 pab
(@pab)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hi - when performing alternate picking, do you always alternate direction? seems that this would be the case, but i've seen some people pick down with the beat and up in between beats, so if a note is held for a full beat, the direction of the next picking motion is the same as the previous one. thanks.

paul

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Hi Paul

Well, I am no expert by any means, although I have spent the last several years really trying to improve my picking skills. I have been studying a book called Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar by Troy Stentina for quite some time now. Excellent book.

Truth is, you want to be able to pick in any combination possible. Almost everybody starts a phrase with a downstroke on the downbeat and picks upstrokes on the upbeats. I think the vast majority would play a downstroke on the downbeat, and then start the next downbeat with a downstroke (I am referring to the example you gave). I know this is what I do.

Wanna try something really interesting, reverse picking order. Start with an upstroke followed by a downstroke on the upbeats. I have tried this and it is really difficult. Just shows the habits we develop. But I experiment like this to hopefully free myself from any habits.

George Benson is supposed to be one of the great alternate pickers. Check him out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7YAYQxmLh0

George does a little bit of everything in this great instrumental. He usually alternates straight down/up, but there are a couple of times he plays all downstrokes, and other times all upstrokes. It is all about the tones and accents you want to pull out of the guitar.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

YA know, I was going to say exactly the same thing Wes said! :lol:

+1 Wes!!