Playing Standing (I'm a shocker !)

26 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Mike,

I like to do that also. Plus I don't like just standing for long periods of time.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

In an orchestra, only the conductor stands. Oh and the drummer (tympanist) - go figure.

I studied percussion in college, and I sometimes sit in on tympani with a community orchestra. Tympanists CAN sit - in fact, it makes it easier if you're using tunable kettles, because you can use both feet to adjust pitch. You just need a stool at a comfortable height.

The other percussion has to stand, though, because there are often a dozen percussion parts, and only 3-4 percussionists - they need to be able to move from cymbal to triangle to gong, to bells, etc.

Bassists also stand in an orchestra - otherwise they won't be able to reach first position notes.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

One thing I discovered, and I use this on difficult parts of songs that I'm still learning, is I stay standing but I put my right foot up onto the seat of my chair and then rest the body of the guitar on my leg. That's kind of a compromise between sitting and standing. Being able to rest the guitar on my leg gives it some more stability.

I have this big brick type thing in my room. I stick it in front of my playing chair and put my left foot on it (I'm a righty player) to give me a more diagonal angle when playing sitting down. And when I stand I like to put my right foot up so I can keep my right knee bent and the face of my guitar angled up slightly. So overall my playing angle stays consistient wrether standing or sitting, but the height drops when standing.

There's a whole mess of dynamics in there, it's just somthing I do to stay comfy.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@steveobouttorock)
Estimable Member