Clear all

Question regarding whammy bar, etc.

18 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@shred)
Topic starter  

Hey Everyone!

I am in the market for a beginner electric guitar and have been doing research for about a month now. I have finally narrowed it down to 2 choices -

1. Ibanez GRG170DX
2. Epiphone Les Paul 100

But I have a question regarding the Ibanez. It says it comes with a whammy bar but I really dont want it now since I am still more of a beginner and it will just detune the guitar. I may use it later. So my question is, can I use the guitar without touching the whammy bar? In other words, how does it exactly work ? Can I play bent notes without the risk of having my guitar detuned? Oh, and also what's the difference between a Floyd Rose Locking Tremolo and a normal whammy bar? And is the guitar I am looking at having a floating bridge or a fixed bridge? I know these questions may look really dumb to you, but as a beginner, I don't know where to look for help. I have been playing acoustic all this time so I really don't know in deep detail how electrics work. I just simply don't want to end up with a guitar that is too complicated to take care of, though I am sure these features will come in handy when I get better.

Also, I would really love your opinions. Should I get the GRG or Epi LP ? Which would you recommend to a beginner switching from acoustic?

Oh, and one last question. Are guitar power cords the same all around the world? I will be buying this guitar from the US but I dont live there, so I will be using a 240V amplifier. Will that pose any problem?

Thanks in Advance
-Shred

(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

I am in the market for a beginner electric guitar and have been doing research for about a month now. I have finally narrowed it down to 2 choices -
1. Ibanez GRG170DX
2. Epiphone Les Paul 100