Clear all

ready for open mic?

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kachman)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey GN folks, got a question - how long after starting or what level should one get to before attempting to play at an open mic?

I ask cos I just started learning myself 9 months ago, I don't have any originals (well, there's this little 3 chord song i wrote but i wouldn't think of playing it out), am not a very good singer, and I can only play a few easy songs - but anyhow, I played and sang for a couple friends at my place the other day, they liked it and now they're pushing me to go out and play at this open mic.

Well, I've been going to this Monday night open mic for a couple of weeks just to watch, and pretty much everyone I've seen play there have played originals and seem to be quite good - so I really don't know if i'm ready to do that yet. The song I can play best is redemption song, but thats a beginner song almost every guitarist can play. I can put my own twist to it, but i think its too basic. I can also play wish you were here (thx again dHodge), but a lot of guitarists also know this and will probably not appreciate a beginner messing it up. I can play some Dylan, and some Tracy Chapman, but then their folky with just basic chord changes which will also give away my newbieness.

I'm not trying to compete, just don't want to waste folks time and embarass myself. Do you think I should learn some more complex songs or maybe write at least one song before I go out? Or maybe find an open mic venue where there'll be others closer to my level?

Thanks a bunch!

http://www.myspace.com/kachman

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'd say you're looking at this negatively....instead of thinking, "Wow, all these really good guitarists, they're bound to look down their noses at me" ...... why don't you at least have a word with some of them before you commit? You never know, they may be quite human, give you some tips, advice and encouragement....