[Sticky] --> Share things you've learned about guitar

386 Posts
204 Users
0 Likes
215 K Views
(@corbind)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I hear you on "perspective." It changes with every few months of playing guitar. Just think when we will have been playing for 30+ years how we'll look back and have a different perspective on it all. Funny, but I'll still remember my early days and the struggles.

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

ReplyQuote
(@penguin5)

Hey this is great thread for beginners.

I have a few very basic questions.

I am a beginner in learning Guitar.

Just wanted to know what is

a. Guitar Set up?
b. Where do I go for it?
c. How much does it cost?
d. Why would my new guitar need new strings?

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Just wanted to know what is

a. Guitar Set up?
b. Where do I go for it?
c. How much does it cost?
d. Why would my new guitar need new strings?

a: adjusting the guitar for optimum playability. The big things are adjusting the action (string height above fretboard) and intonation (fine-tune string length to improve accuracy of fretted notes), as well as other small adjustments and neck adjustments to make the guitar easier/better to play

b: local guitar shop that has a competent repair person. (Ask local players for recommendations, if you know any.)

c: no idea, I do my own (it's not super hard if youre good with tools, and are patient)

d: How long have they been on the guitar since it left the factory? They probably have accumulated some crud in their travels.

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@penguin5)

Hey kent_eh, thanks for your reply. :D