Notifications
Clear all

Some good beginer books

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@dumpy2)
Topic starter  

i am looking for a good beginers book (and when i say beginer i mean absolute beginer), but instead of just going out and buying a random book, i thought i would ask you guys what books you have used, and found effective, thanks in advance.

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

If I were to use a book I would use this one "Mel Bay's Complete Method for Modern Guitar". I purchased it a while back and I have used it some. It is complete beginner and has some really good lessons that will get you started. If you go from start to finish the way it is set up you will know how to read music, which alot of people dont (Including me).

The only thing I dont like about it is that it is not spiral bound so it is difficult to keep it open and you cant put it on a music stand.

The lessons here at GN are terrific for learning beginning guitar as well. They can take you a long way before you need lessons.

Good luck
Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@dumpy2)
Topic starter  

just thought i would throw in for you guys to feel free to recomend other forms of media too, dvd, websites, etc, thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Most absolute beginner books are very much of a muchness. The Hal Leonard books come with CD, which I guess gives them sufficient to make them worth recommending.

Anything on DVD should be worth looking at - anybody checked anything out?

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@mikefly)
Eminent Member