Clear all

strumming variations

21 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@miketheblues)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello everyone, this is my first post and i'm still new to the guitar (4 weeks tommorow)

Well i'm stuck I have been practising 12 bar blues in E which my teacher gave me last week, thing is he advised me to try diffrent strumming patterns, but i'm having real problems.

At the moment I can do it using all downstrokes or D,D,D and U,D

What I would really like to master is D,D and U,D,D and U at the moment I seem to get to the second or third bar and totally loose it.

What i'm looking for is a little advise of any mental/physical things I could practice, as i even seem to loose the rythm whilst trying to count it in my head never mind at the gutair, I work twelve hour night shifts so if anybody who knows anything I could do here to help me get it, it would be a great help.

Thanks

http://www.myspace.com/planetry visit me please

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

It really boils down to repitition. The more you practice the easier it will come.
Concentrate only on the pattern, forget about the chords, in fact just play open strings or a simple chord like Em. play the pattern over and over then start adding chord changes ect...
Try recording yourself if you can. If you get the pattern down for a couple of bars you can loop the recording and play along with yourself.
Best of luck and Welcome to Guitar Noise.

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

try forgetting about rythm variations and just do each strum as a quarter note until you get the pattern down, then worry about the rhytm of each stroke once you have the pattern down.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member