Clear all

Things to look for in a Folk Guitar.

20 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@ansur)
Topic starter  

Hey guys

To put it plain and simple; I'm looking for a new guitar.

Now, if you don't mind, I'd like to make this post a semi-introductory post, so you get an idea of who I am and what I'm looking for.

I'm a 21 years old guy living in Belgium, and I've been learning to play the guitar for about 9 months now. I'm taking private lessons, but have been enjoying the lessons on this wonderful site as well, especially those by David, but also the Irish Tunes by Doug (although these are still a bit out of my league right now).

Now, my current guitar is a real beginners guitar – an Epiphone Special II. It does what it needs to do, but obviously it isn't that great.

The reason why I started learning to play the guitar was –and still is– to play Irish Folk Music. Secondly comes music from artists like Leonard Cohen, Paul Simon,... (still somewhat folky) but also Pink Floyd, America, The Eagles,...

So, I'm looking for a decent guitar. What with my interest in Irish Folk, I've been reading a lot about Takamine guitars. They seem like a great choice, both in quality as in price.
To be more specific, their Supernatural Series attract me the most.

Now, take these fine guitars:

• TAN 15C
    TAN 16C
    TAN 45C
    TAN 46C

• The main difference between them is the shape of the body (NEX or Dreadnought) and the choice of Top Wood (Cedar or Spruce).

From what I've read, NEX is a better choice for singer/songwriter artists. Not that I can sing, but I like the idea of a mild (brighter?) sound, compared to a more 'bass-like' sound a Dreadnought guitar offers (I may be wrong in this interpretation, do feel free to correct me).