Notifications
Clear all

Thumb Placement

11 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@gkoserjr)
Topic starter  

Am new to the guitar and just learning some chords , is there a certain placement for the thumb on the neck or is this just a matter of preference? Any help would be greatly apreciated.

Ibanez AW200

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

middle of the neck is good for absolute beginners....later on, you might want to try experimenting....but for now, get it right plumb smack in the middle of the neck......

Don't worry if it happens to drift up towards the bottom E string - the top of the fretboard as you're looking at it - that happens, just try and concentrate for now on the "correct" placement....

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@nexion)
Honorable Member

You want your thumb to be behind the neck (not hanging over) going parallel to the frets (up and down). It should probably be opposite of your middle finger, to give you the best position for maximum pressure.

"That’s what takes place when a song is written: You see something that isn’t there. Then you use your instrument to find it."
- John Frusciante

ReplyQuote
(@gkoserjr)
Topic starter  

Thanks for the info Guys. will try to keep in the middle and parallel to the frets..sounds like a plan. thanks again

Ibanez AW200

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

yup. hold your hand out as in hitchhiking. instead of a fist with thumb out cup your hand with thumb out.
now grab the guitar. that is the hold. great for those upcoming barre chords.
keep relaxed. let your hand slide along the neck; your fingers should be free to hit the notes and not grip the neck so much.
have at it.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@clockworked)
Reputable Member