thumb postion - behind or over?

11 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@velsing)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi

Just wanted some input on thumb position. I started playing on a classical guitar which has a wide neck so I found it easier to place the thumb in the middle of the back of the neck.

Now I have a accoustic guitar with a much narrower neck, and I am trying to place my thumb over the top of the neck. It is quite comfortable but sometimes the high e-string gets muted by the palm of my hand. Overall I'm just more used to keeping my thumb at the back, but I've seen most players play with the thumb over the top.

Should I change or just continue playing the way I always was?

Thanks

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

ultilize both techniques.
the high E mute from the palm means you are not sitting correctly. just sit up more.
the thumb over style is very useful for some chords and the thumb behind is essential for barre chords with your non classical guitar.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
 Jay1
(@jay1)
Trusted Member

the high E mute from the palm means you are not sitting correctly. just sit up more.

Is that true. Will give this a try when I get in. this is something I suffer from quite a lot. I hope thats right that all I need to do is sit up a bit. Fantastic :D

ReplyQuote
(@niklas)
Reputable Member

I found that it's easier to play with your thumb over the neck for bending and to place the thumb on the middle of the neck is easier for really wide stretches, so I would say both positions are necessary. This mostly applies for electric guitar though where the neck is thinner. On my acoustic I always play with mu thumb on the middle of the neck.

"Talent is luck. The important thing in life is courage."

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Thumb over is a pretty important, espescially when you want to form some chords that require you to fret notes with your thumb.