tremelo questions

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@thedonutman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

Ive just bought a Ibanez RG170DX, and i have a few questions about the Tremelo bar

is there any way to prevent going out of tune without getting a Floyd Rose fitted?

is getting a FR fitted possible?

Whats the differance between a 2 point locking tremelo, a locking nut and locking tuners, do the tuners and the nut acchieve the same effect?

Is it possible to do the dimebag harmonic squeals without floyd rose?

sorry if these are stupid questions, im a bassist and therefore totally new to tremelo

thanks,

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I can only answer a part of your question.
locking tuners.
they do not prevent you from going out of tune.
they do make it easier to load a string, secure it, and wind it up to pitch.

my strat plus has an early FR trem, locking tuners, and a roller nut.

the roller nut is nice, although I am limited on the gauge string I can usae. max is 10-46.
I think the roller nut helps with the divebombs, making the trem action smooth and kinkless.

there are several kinds of trems out there. I stopped trying to figure it all out years ago.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@manitou)
Estimable Member

You need a locking nut and a locking bridge. a locking tremelo does one thing only, it doesnt tilt back. Normally a floyd rose can tilt back and this stretches your strings causing them to detune erraticly, if you have any tremelo and it is locking or it sits flush to the body it should stay in tune fairly well. I would like to bludgeon whoever first put a tremelo with no locking nut... leo... Im comin for u!! BUAHAHAHA

SHUT UP ABOUT IRON MAIDEN SOLOS AND GO PRACTICE!
-Manitou

ReplyQuote
(@shred)